Nicholas D. Miller, known professionally as Illenium (stylized as ILLENIUM), is an American EDM musician, DJ, and producer. He has released two studio albums, and his third, Ascend, is due to be released in August 2019 on Astralwerks. Several of his songs have appeared on the Billboard Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart including, most recently, the collaborative single with Jon Bellion, "Good Things Fall Apart", which peaked at number 8. Illenium has also worked on numerous notable remixes, including those for The Chainsmokers' "Don't Let Me Down" and Flume's "Say It", the latter of which won the award for "Remix of the Year" at the inaugural Electronic Music Awards in 2017.

Early life and education

Nicholas D. Miller was born in Chicago but grew up largely in San Francisco. In 2008, Miller began making electronic music. In the summer of 2012, he saw Bassnectar perform at Red Rocks Amphitheatre and decided to focus on music more earnestly after that. That year, he also suffered a heroin overdose, a fact he shared with his fans in 2018. The experience was the inspiration for his 2018 song, "Take You Down". In 2013, Miller moved to Denver, where he continues to reside. He also enrolled in (but never finished) the music-business program at the University of Colorado Denver while working on his first EP. In the meantime, he coached lacrosse and delivered sushi to support himself.



Illenium released his first self-titled EP in May 2013 on Prep School Recordings. That year, he also released a remix of Florence and the Machine's "Over the Love". In January 2014, he independently released his follow-up EP, Risen, which contained the song "Drop Our Hearts" featuring Sirma. He also continued releasing remixes, including those for Lana Del Rey's "Flipside" and Odesza's "Always This Late". In 2015, Illenium released several singles, including "Chosen You", "Painted White" (with Said the Sky and Christina Soto), and "I'll Be Your Reason" (featuring Eden). The latter song was released on Skrillex's Nest HQ platform. Illenium's remixes that year included those for Galantis' "Gold Dust" and Kaskade's "Disarm You" (featuring Ilsey).


Ashes Cover

In February 2016, Illenium released his debut studio album, Ashes, as a free download on Seeking Blue Records and his own recently established imprint, Kasaya Records. The album featured 10 songs (12 on the bonus version) including "Reverie" (featuring King Deco), "With You" (featuring Quinn XCII), and "Fortress" (featuring Joni Fatora). The album peaked at number 6 on the Billboard Top Dance/Electronic Albums chart and at number 19 on the Heatseekers Albums chart. An album of Ashes remixes was released in December 2016, at which time Illenium embarked on the "Ashes Tour" in select cities across the United States.

Illenium also released two notable remixes in 2016: The Chainsmokers' "Don't Let Me Down" and Flume's "Say It" (featuring Tove Lo). His remix of "Don't Let Me Down" premiered in March 2016. Although the release was initially unofficial, it was later included in The Chainsmokers' official remix collection. By the end of the year, the song had accumulated over 60 million streams on SoundCloud and was still the most played remix on the platform in 2018 with over 101 million streams. Illenium's remix of "Say It" was released in September 2016. That remix would go on to win the award for "Remix of the Year" at the first Electronic Music Awards in September 2017. In October 2016, Illenium also released a collaboration with Said the Sky and Seven Lions entitled "Rush Over Me" (featuring Haliene). That song charted at number 50 on the Billboard Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart.


In February 2017, Illenium released the song "Fractures" featuring Nevve. He followed that with the collaborative single, "Feel Good", with Gryffin and featuring Daya in March 2017. Both songs charted on the Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart (at number 42 and 17, respectively). In July 2017, Illenium collaborated with EDM duo, Zeds Dead, to produce the track "Where The Wild Things Are". The following month, he released the single, "Crawl Outta Love" featuring Annika Wells. The song would peak at number 35 on the Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart and also won Illenium (and his writing partners) the top prize of the International Songwriting Competition the following year.

Fractures Banner

In September 2017, Illenium released his sophomore album, Awake, on Seeking Blue Records and Kasaya Records. The album featured 13 tracks including the aforementioned "Fractures", "Feel Good", and "Crawl Outta Love". It became Illenium's first album to chart on the Billboard 200, peaking at number 106. It also peaked at number 3 on the Top Dance/Electronic Albums chart. Beginning in November 2017, Illenium embarked on the "Awake Tour" across the country in support of the album. Throughout the tour, he was joined on stage by frequent collaborators Said the Sky and Dabin. In December 2017, an EP of official Awake piano covers was released, and, in June 2018, an EP of Awake remixes dropped.

In 2018, Illenium released three collaborations that charted on the Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart: "Don't Give Up on Me" with Kill the Noise and Mako at number 35, "Gold (Stupid Love)" with Excision and Shallows at number 19, and "God Damnit" with Call Me Karizma at number 33. He also released a remix of Halsey's "Without Me" in November 2018.

Illenium at work


In January 2019, Illenium collaborated with electronic music duo, Bahari, on the track "Crashing". He followed that with a March 2019 collaboration with Kameron Alexander on the track "Pray". Later that month, EDM duo, The Chainsmokers, debuted a collaboration with Illenium ("Takeaway") during their set at the Ultra Music Festival. In May 2019, Illenium released a track with Jon Bellion called "Good Things Fall Apart". As of July 2019, the single maintains Illenium's highest placement on the Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart at number 8.

Later in May 2019, Illenium and Ekali debuted a collaborative track ("Hard to Say Goodbye") during a set at the Electric Daisy Carnival in Las Vegas. In June 2019, Illenium announced that his upcoming album, Ascend, would be released on August 16 through Astralwerks. He also announced a 30-city North American tour in support of the album. On July 24, 2019, after many months of playing at festivals, his collaboration with The Chainsmokers and Lennon Stella titled "Takeaway," along with the official music video, were released. The video has garnered over 6 million views in the first 3 days. "Takeaway" quickly entered the top 10 on the US iTunes Sales Chart.